APRC 2009 – Indonesia

By • Oct 19th, 2009 • Category: Transcripts

Transcript of APRC Live – Rally Malaysia 2009

Cody Crocker has carved out his own piece of rallying history, becoming the first driver to claim four APRC titles at Rally Indonesia. Hi, I’m Bruce McKinnon and welcome to APRC Live for our coverage of an historic Rally Indonesia.

Coming into the 6th round of the 2009 season, Crocker required only five championship points to become the most successful driver in APRC history. And he virtually guaranteed the title on the first morning, jumping to a 52 second lead after just four stages. Although torrential rain in the afternoon made conditions slippery, the Motor Image driver was able to extend that lead to an even minute by the end of the first day.

— IV: Cody – End Day 1

Crocker’s perennial rival, MRF driver Katsu Taguchi, was next best. And although he has battled hard this season, Katsu realised the championship was gone after the first morning.

— IV: Katsu – End Day 1 + Morning Day 1

Even though Crocker has struggled in Indonesia in the past, his new Subaru N14 is now clearly faster than the MRF Evo 9, Taguchi capturing second place but unable to mount any meaningful attack on the Motor Image driver.

By contrast, the series first Super 2000 entry was finding the Indonesian conditions hard going. With Karamjit Singh unavailable, the Proton Satria Neo S2000 was piloted by former WRC driver Alister McRae, the Scotsman fourth after the second stage, but finding problems on the third.

— IV: McRae – Morning Day 1

Although the Proton team fixed the car for a leg two restart, persistent power steering problems brought an end to the Satria’s event on stage 13.

— Email Sweeper

Like the Proton Super 2000, the Lancer Evo X is also having its debut season in the APRC. But there were no prizes for it in Indonesia.

Last years winner Gaurav Gill arrived in Makassar with plenty of confidence, but first morning followed a similar script to previous APRC events this year. MRF’s new car has been getting better with each rally, but bad luck seems to be dogging the young Indian on the opening stages. This time it was a turbo pipe that let go during stage 1.

— IV: Gill – End Event

Also driving new Evo Xs, the Cusco pair of Hiroshi Yanagisawa and Yuya Sumiyama had their fair share of problems. Yanagisawa posted top four times during the first morning but was stopped by clutch and gear box problems during Saturday afternoon.

For Sumiyama, the first leg was much shorter; an off-road excursion destroying the steering of his Evo X on stage three. Sunday, however, was kinder to the Cuscos, both completing the leg, with Yanagisawa third quickest of the APRC regulars.

But the award for the grittiest determination in the face of adversity has to go to Rifat Sungkar. The popular local was back in his own Evo 8 to contest the Asia Cup, but his home event provided no advantage. Still, he was able to complete the event with a smile and collected third place points for the Asia Cup.

— IV: Rifat – End Event

And while Rifat has plenty of experience at Makassar, it was another new experience for Emma Gilmore. The Kiwi again made the best possible use of the opportunity Motor Image has provided this year, battling through the mud and rain of Saturday and the rocks and heat of Sunday, to collect another podium finish behind Crocker and Taguchi.

— IV: Emma – End Event

But this event, and this years championship, belongs to Cody Crocker. He’s contested the APRC for the past four years, and he’s won it every time. In fact, he’s won an international or national title of some sort 13 out of the past 14 years, and along with co-driver Ben Atkinson, can now claim the honour of being the most successful driver in APRC history.

We’ll be back for the season ending Rally China in mid-November. But until then, let’s go out with the 2009 APRC Champion, Cody Crocker.

— IV: Cody – End Event

is The host and producer of the APRC Live podcast and web site
Email this author | All posts by

Comments are closed.