Archive for the ‘Season 2010’ Category

Taguchi Falters But Grabs Titles

By • Nov 8th, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

All the major APRC teams at 2010 China Rally leave the event with a result, MRF win the APRC drivers championship, Cusco the Asia Cup and Proton finish their season with a 1-2 podium. MRF Tyres team take the major prize with Japan’s Katsu Taguchi winning the 2010 Asia Pacific drivers championship. Joining the Japanese […]

Reeves Takes Win and Cup

By • Sep 1st, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

Rally New Caledonia is the 5th round of the 2010 Asia Pacific Rally Championship and being held on a Pacific island governed by France it has a character all of its own. It maybe an island paradise but the event is no holiday with 230 kilometres of rough, dusty tracks that have a ‘ball-bearing’ gravel […]

Gill Bags Second APRC Win

By • Aug 2nd, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

Guarav Gill won the International Rally of Queensland with a consistent driving display while rivals fell around him in the forests of the Sunshine Coast hinterland today. Gill and New Zealand co-driver Glen Macneall of the Indian-based MRF Mitsubishi team won only one of the event’s 18 special stages, on Friday night, but were rarely […]

Paddon Three-Peats

By • Jul 5th, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

It may have been his home event and he may have had a lucky escape on the first stage, but New Zealander Hayden Paddon showed just he’s a champion in the making with a completely dominate win on the International Rally of Whangarei. “During the afternoon stages with the worsening conditions, we backed off a […]

Rally Hokkaido 2010 Podcast

By • Jun 21st, 2010 • Category: Podcast, Season 2010

This season may be Katsu Taguchi’s best opportunity to win a second APRC title. And the Japanese driver completed a classy win at his home event, steering clear of trouble with a measured, mature drive. His teammate Gaurav Gill set the pace throughout the event, but some bad luck and enormous pressure from Taguchi saw […]

Katsu – Two from Two

By • May 24th, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

Japanese driver Katsu Taguchi has won Rally Hokkaido, Round 2 of the 2010 Asia Pacific Rally Championship. Taguchi’s win is his second of the season, after winning Malaysian Rally in April and takes the MRF Tyres Mitsubishi driver to a commanding lead in the APRC drivers title. Second and only 9 seconds off the lead […]

Taguchi Lays Down the Gauntlet

By • Apr 27th, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

Just when Alister McRae thought victory was well within reach, disaster struck which left him wondering why fate had been so unkind to him in the Malaysian Rally 2010 at the Tai Tak Estate in Kota Tinggi. The 39-year old Scotsman with his Australian co-driver Bill Hayes had gone into the final round of the […]

The ‘Flying Sikh’ is Still the Man to Beat

By • Apr 7th, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

The man they dubbed “the Flying Sikh” may no longer be the dominant force in Malaysian rallying but Karamjit Singh is still the driver to beat. As he and his co-driver Jagdev Singh head for Kota Tinggi’s Tai Tak Estate for the Malaysian Rally and the Asia Pacific Rally Championship on April 23-25, the rivals […]

Atko Joins Proton

By • Apr 3rd, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

The PROTON R3 Rally team has signed Chris Atkinson to contest \this year’s FIA Asia-Pacific Rally Championship in a Proton Satria Neo S2000. The 30-year-old Australian will join another household name in world rallying, Alister McRae, in what will be one of the strongest driver line-ups for the seven-round Asia-Pacific Rally Championship, which starts later […]

Competitive Field Lines Up For APRC 2010

By • Apr 1st, 2010 • Category: News, Season 2010

Although a colder financial climate may have robbed the APRC of last season’s champions MIRT, 2010 will see a new batch of teams and drivers join the regulars to contest the APRC title. Contesting the full series, regulars MRF have locked in their plans with an unchanged driver line-up. This year both Katsu Taguchi and […]